Making a difference…

Today was dedicated to one of my challenges to ‘make a difference’ – a great challenge which I’ll be continuing to think about over the course of the year. The original email read…

My offering is that you “Make a Difference” – to strangers you pass as well as loved ones. A smile, a word, a phonecall, a wave, a kindness, a pop-in, a nod – a remembrance – just wee things to you but might just make someone’s day, or even week – or might even make them think how much it meant to them and encourage them to do the same for other people. It’s infectious ! In Japan they say “Greetings to each other are the flowers of the heart”.

The other day an old colleague wrote on facebook that she was collecting food for a family in need and, after contributing, it got me thinking… So I looked up my local food bank and today bought and donated 30 items that they were running low on (tinned meat, pasta sauce and basic toiletries). It felt like a good deed and for a great cause. You can find your nearest food bank via the Trussell Trust website http://www.trusselltrust.org/map. Thanks for the challenge Auntie Anne, I will continue to keep the Japanese quote in my mind! R x

IMG_4113.JPG

Leave a comment